Sunday, September 11, 2011

12 Minute Free Write

So here I am at Hofstra and I am blogging.  Writing online makes me feel weird. Well, it's not so much the writing online part that worries me- I'm actually really not looking forward to not being able to edit myself. I edit everything- well, pretty much everything I write, even if it's going on Facebook or somewhere equally inconsequential. I don't think I'm going to be able to stick to a a consistent train of thought without reading over what I'm writing, but I guess that's not really the point of this assignment. I'm actually not yet sure what the point of this assignment is and I can't remember if I'm supposed to know or not. My guess is it's some exercise in editing? Or that it will be eventually, anyway. I really do like the idea of using a blog and Twitter for a class. I've taken writing classes before and never felt like I gained much from them, but this course seems like it's really going to be different and I'm actually looking forward to it. It's fascinating to be starting out with such inconventional (I meant unconventional but I'm not sure if I'm allowed to backspace for typos) mediums. Not sure if that's the word I wanted to use, but so be it. I'm really unenthusiastic about being unable to edit myself, I don't mind saying that again. I may have to cheat a teeny tiny bit on that part. I'll try not to.

I'm wondering how much the other students will write in 12 minutes. I guess those of us who type quickly and have a lot to say will end up with much more here than others. I'm actually in the library right now because I broke my laptop. I'm pretty bummed about having no laptop to use but I came here with a friend to do some work and it's kindof fun. Perhaps this is a silver lining? I guess it's pretty embarrassing that I'm excited about doing homework in the library, but I already knew that I'm a nerd so I'm just going to have to accept it. Oh man, I really don't want my fellow classmates reading this. I hate that I can't delete/edit! BOO. I hope that the papers we write don't make me want to pull my hair out. I still have a good 5 minutes left of this and I am thoroughly running out of things to say. This is the longest blog post I have ever made.

I like the twitter thing we're doing and I'm really interested to see where that goes and what kind of paper we have to write. I just made my new twitter account but I couldn't remember what the hashtag was so I'm waiting to make my first tweet until Kat texts me back with that information. I'm going to tweet about my friend's "Justice League" shirt.

Hofstra has been good so far. I already have a job and I like it... It doesn't seem like it will be too overwhelming and I'll be able to work on homework while I'm there which is really nice. It is already a huge improvement from the other job I had for the last 2 years that I don't want to discuss. .. That makes it sound like it was something illegal but it wasn't at all. It was just a stupid job for a stupid corporation that I hate and may have given me PTSD (but not really). Welp. I'm almost down now. I backspaced a little and my friend who is here at the library totally called me out on it but I DON'T CARE I CAN'T STOP. I make too many typos! I don't even know if that counts or not. Ummmm so this has been an interesting experience. I thought it would be kindof fun and I guess it was but also somewhat torturous. And now I'm running out of time. Okay then. Can't wait to rip this apart. BYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE OH man I want to delete that.

No comments:

Post a Comment